Dancing with the What Happened to the Stars

Confession time: I actually like Dancing with the Stars. There is something oddly compelling about watching people go outside their area of competence and attempt to learn something new. So I want it to succeed. So why are the producers trying to kill it? That’s the only explanation for the “Stars” lined up for Season 13.

David Arquette–Credits include Buffy the Vampire Slayer and Scream 1 through 48. Nuff said.

Ron Artest-Asked for time off from the NBA because he was tired from promoting his music career. Lacks stamina.

Chaz Bono–Transgender and LGBT advocate. If you’re going to have surgery, why not at least end up good looking?

Elisabetta Canalis–Ex-girlfriend of George Clooney. Clearly an indication of greatness.

Kristin Cavallari–Former fiance of perennial loser quarterback Jay Cutler. Sense a trend here?

Nancy Grace–Close personal friend of Casey Anthony. I guess Casey turned them down and they had to go with second best.

Rob Kardashian–Says he’s on the show to lose weight. Will be devastated when he realizes he’s not on The Biggest Loser.

Carson Kressley–Host of the TV show How to Look Good Naked. Apparently, DWTS is in ratings trouble.

Ricki Lake–Her hero is Kirstie Alley and she wants to lose weight. May be paired with Rob Kardashian for weigh ins. Another trend?

J.R. Martinez–Iraq War veteran. Somebody who ought to be famous.

Chynna Phillips–Actress (Caddyshack II-Not to be confused with the immortal Caddyshack I and The Prize Pulitzer); singer (Naked and Sacred). May be paired with Carson Kressley.

Hope Solo–Soccer goalkeeper. Lost World Cup on penalty kicks to a Japanese team that averaged 92 pounds.

3 Responses to “Dancing with the What Happened to the Stars”


  1. 1 Just Jennifer (@JenAnnHall) August 30, 2011 at 11:25 pm

    Ouch and harsh! I’m actually intrigued by this cast. JR Martinez is also an actor on the outgoing All My Children. I’m very excited to see him on there.

    Maybe I’m a dork, but I go into each season with an open mind. And I just really love the dancing!

  2. 2 Steve August 30, 2011 at 11:39 pm

    I love the show and really hope I’m wrong. I just can’t help thinking that with all of the interesting, talented people who are out there, they came up with a pretty obscure and strange collection. Here’s hoping they utterly surprise me and knock our socks off. End of the day, I only really care about the dancing.

  3. 3 Kristin @ What She Said August 31, 2011 at 12:57 pm

    You know how sometimes you tune into the beginning of a season of DWTS expecting to absolutely despise someone based on their public persona and then you realize they’re actually very sweet and come to really admire them?

    Yeah, I don’t think it’s going to be like that AT ALL with Nancy Grace.


Leave a comment




Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 13 other subscribers